Being Alone Vs. Being Lonely

I recently moved into my lovely new little studio flat in North London and I’m so far loving every single minute. Having gone from living with 5 other people in a house that would make a 60’s style bed and breakfast look good, it’s safe to say I am welcoming the change! Although it’s come as a natural progression for me, being someone who has always loved the idea of living alone, I’m still met with the same question over and over by friends and work colleagues when I tell them about my new living situation: ‘but don’t you get lonely?’ I’m always surprised by this, because even though I’m very aware that I’m alone, I’m very far from lonely – and there’s a big difference. Being alone and being lonely Don’t get me wrong, I have been lonely before and I’m sure I will be again but, and not meaning to blow my own trumpet here, I happen to love my own company. An introvert at heart, I love having the time to reflect on my life and think about all the things that make me happy, the things that don’t, and how I intend to ensure that every day I spend is beneficial in some way how I want my world to be. I know what you’re thinking – there’s a lot of ‘me’ in there, but is that necessarily a bad thing? I don’t consider myself a selfish person, but I also know a lot of people who crave other people’s company constantly, whether this be because they are afraid of being alone and at the risk of becoming lonely, or perhaps they just don’t know how to be alone. There’s nothing wrong in this, because at the end of the day as long as there’s happiness in what you do and how you live your life, that really is the only important thing. For me, the real fear lies in depending on the company of others to avoid loneliness. tumblr_nbrspvr9ds1r25bkjo1_1280 It’s taken a long time for me to like my own company and really get to know myself, and that’s a quality I view as a strength. After all, how can you really be yourself around other people when you don’t know how you are alone? I always think everyone should experience a bit of ‘me’ time at some point in their lives, because at the end of the day your life is all about you – yes the people in our lives are a huge part of this and I personally wouldn’t be who I am without my own family and friends – but it all starts with you, and you alone. So go spend some quality time with yourself! Whether this is a solo afternoon walk, enjoying a good book in silence or doing a bit of exercise, it’s a super rewarding experience. tumblr_mphifpDNan1r6a3q3o1_1280

Leave a Reply

